A Morning in Malmö

With only a few days of my first semester remaining, I realised that I had not yet properly visited Malmö, a city very close to Lund on the way to Copenhagen before the Öresund Bridge. Therefore, as many of my friends were busy with exams or had already gone home, I decided to spend the morning exploring the city. I got the train from Lund at just after 9am and boarded the first train to Malmö Central.

A short walk from the station is the town hall square, which at this time of day was very quiet, yet still impressive:

DSC00518

Close to here in the backstreets is St Peter’s Cathedral, which was not open until 11, so I found a little coffee shop in the heart of the city and grabbed a large coffee and a traditional Swedish kanelbullar, before making my way back to St Paul’s Church to have a look around.

DSC00537

A short walk from here is Malmö’s Modern Museum, home to artwork such as cubism as well as a huge collection of propaganda posters from the former Soviet Union. A short walk across the river and I was at St Peter’s Church. Unfortunately, there was a great deal of work being done to the church with scaffolding surrounding the building, but the inside of the church was magnificent. I then spent some time walking through the neighbouring park and took some time to mess about with my new camera, before heading back to Lund in the early afternoon.

DSC00567

One thought on “A Morning in Malmö

  1. Pingback: My 1st Term Highlights | Swedish House Blog

Leave a Reply

