A week in Sweden

Välkommen!

I’ve been in Lund for a week now and I have just got the internet sorted in my flat, so I feel the time is right to update you all on what I have been up to.

Having woken up at the disgusting hour of 3am on Tuesday morning (less than 24 hours after getting back from Amsterdam), I flew from Stansted to Copenhagen and then hopped on the train to Lund, which takes you over the famous Øresund bridge from Denmark to Sweden. It’s pretty cool how you can just jump on a train to another country without having to show any form of ID whatsoever.

Upon arrival in Lund, I was immediately thrown into the busy lifestyle of being an international student. It had never really occurred to me how many things need to be sorted out and checked before you can get on with enjoying yourself, so to all international students out there, good on ya!

With 2 suitcases, 3 items of bedding (which came with a poker set which I thought was a very nice touch) and hundreds of flyers that students always seem to hoard, I headed to my accommodation, Pålsjöäng.

The accommodation here is fantastic – it’s typical Swedish cleanliness and minimalism and everything is from IKEA.  Here are a few photos of my room- not bad for a student eh?

ImageImage

On the first night, my corridor of international exchange students hosted a small party which turned into more than 30 people being crammed into one room (and the balcony).

Most of the main buildings in Lund are university buildings with amazing architecture (like the main university building at the top of this page). It is such a student city that they have made it legal to drink alcohol on the streets and in public parks, whereas everywhere else in Sweden it’s illegal – we reckon that a student must have made it pretty high up!

The day after I arrived I started learning Swedish. It’s quite similar to German, but the pronunciation is a lot more difficult. My aim is to convince the people that serve me in the local supermarket that I am Swedish. It’s quite nice that everyone speaks English so well here but I would like to practice speaking Swedish before people immediately see my hair and say “Hi, how are you today?”, which in Swedish is: Hej! hur är det idag?

On Saturday night, we had the official welcome party for all international students. I’m part of an international mentor group here so I went to my mentor’s flat for pre-drinks and met loads more cool people from all over the world – and a few Brits! After playing beer pong (albeit with the cheaper weak beer) and playing an Estonian version of ring of fire/circle, I was very much on the jolly side and had a great time at the party.

If I had to say something negative about Sweden it would be that the academic schedule is ridiculous. I’ve got a 4 hour seminar at 8am during some weeks, and my Swedish exam on Friday is also at 8am. But I guess I’m kind of here to learn, aren’t I?

Here are some other events coming up this term that I’m looking forward to:

  • A taste of Sweden – trying out lots of Swedish cuisine
  • More mentor group parties
  • Trips to Copenhagen, Gothenburg and Stockholm
  • A treasure hunt challenge between all the mentor groups

So all in all, I’m having a fantastic time and meeting lots of great people! If you want more, follow me on Twitter @LawrenceBell4.

One thought on “A week in Sweden

  1. Pingback: My 1st Term Highlights | Swedish House Blog

Leave a Reply

